Jrue Holiday wins NBA Sportsmanship 2020-21 award

Jrue Holiday was named the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy.

NEW YORK – Milwaukee Bucks goalie Jrue Holiday received the Joe Dumars Trophy as the winner of the 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award, the NBA announced today. The annual award is designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of fair play on the pitch.

Each NBA team has nominated one of its players for the NBA Sportsmanship Award. From the list of the team’s 30 nominees, a panel of league officials selected a finalist from each of the six divisions of the NBA. Current NBA players selected the winner from the list of six finalists, with nearly 350 players submitting their votes through a confidential ballot conducted by the league office.

In addition to Holiday (Central Division), the finalists were Miami Heat center Bam Adebayo (Southeast), Sacramento Kings forward Harrison Barnes (Pacific), Minnesota Timberwolves goaltender Josh Okogie (Northwest), Boston Celtics goalie Kemba Walker (Atlantic) and San Antonio Spurs guard Derrick White (Southwest).

Holiday received 130 of 343 first-place votes and scored a total of 2,752 points in the NBA player poll. Walker, a two-time NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, finished second with 2,474 points. The six finalists were awarded 11 points for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for each third-place vote, five points for each fourth-place vote, three points for each fifth-place vote and one point for each vote in sixth place.

A 12-year NBA veteran, Holiday won the NBA Sportsmanship Award for the first time. Last season, he won the 2019-20 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award in recognition of his selfless play, leadership on and off the field as a mentor and role model for other NBA players, as well as his commitment and dedication to the team.

Holiday, 30, was selected as an NBA All-Star in the 2012-13 season and named to the NBA All-Defensive team in 2017-18 and 2018-19. This season, he averaged 17.7 points, 6.1 assists and 4.5 rebounds in 59 games for the Bucks, who acquired him from the New Orleans Pelicans in a trade to four teams on November 24, 2020. Holiday was a co-winner, along with Dallas Mavericks guard Josh Richardson, of the January NBA Cares Community Assist Award presented by Kaiser Permanente in recognition of his efforts to provide support to those affected by the pandemic of COVID-19.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award is named in honor of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, six-time NBA All-Star and two-time NBA champion. Dumars played 14 NBA seasons and won the top sportsmanship award in the 1995-96 season.

Below are the total votes for the 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award and the list of all-time winners.



Player (Team) 1st Place votes 2sd Place votes 3rd Place votes 4e Place votes 5e Place votes 6e Place votes Total
(11 points) (9 points) (7 points) (5 points) (3 points) (1 point)
Jrue Vacation (Milwaukee) 130 71 56 38 26 23 2 752
Kemba Walker (Boston) 74 89 67 46 47 19 2,474
Bam Adebayo (Miami) 48 73 76 63 42 41 2 199
Harrison Barnes (Sacramento) 49 49 62 62 81 41 2,008
Derrick White (San Antonio) 31 21 54 79 88 68 1,635
Josh Okogie (Minnesota) 11 40 28 55 59 151 1,280

1995-96 – Joe Dumars, Detroit
1996-97 – Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98 – Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99 – Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-00 – Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01 – David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02 – Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03 – Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-04 – PJ Brown, New Orleans
2004-05 – Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-06 – Elton Brand, LA Clippers
2006-07 – Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-08 – Grant Hill, Phoenix
2008-09 – Chauncey Billups, Denver
2009-10 – Grant Hill, Phoenix
2010-11 – Stephen Curry, Golden State
2011-12 – Jason Kidd, Dallas
2012-13 – Jason Kidd, New York
2013-14 – Mike Conley, Memphis
2014-15 – Kyle Korver, Atlanta
2015-16 – Mike Conley, Memphis
2016-17 – Kemba Walker, Charlotte
2017-18 – Kemba Walker, Charlotte
2018-19 – Mike Conley, Memphis
2019-20 – Vince Carter, Atlanta
2020-21 – Jrue Holiday, Milwaukee

Source link

About Kimberly Alley

Check Also

San Antonio Spurs’ Patty Mills nominated for NBA Community Service Award

Fan voting is underway for the NBA Cares Community Assist Award. Patty Mills of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *